It is illegal in the state of Minnesota to own a still, regardless of its planned use. The fines and penalties are quite high ($10,000, 1 year in jail) so the risk is much higher than other states.
The finding of an unauthorized still is prima facie evidence of possession for the purpose of unlawful manufacture of alcoholic beverages.
Wine and beer can be manufactured in the home and for family use, without a license. It is a felony offense to manufacture distilled spirits by use of a still in a person’s home.
Because it is illegal to own a still even if it is not used (like decorations) this means you cannot even use a still for distilling water or use for essential oils.
Because of the laws on still ownership it is illegal to manufacture your own ethanol fuel without going through the process. What that process is though is not available online.
There currently is no specific license to manufacture ethanol fuel in Minnesota but it is allowed if you go through the process. There isn’t much information on the process and chances are only commercial production is allowed.
Minnesota does offer several types of licenses for distilleries, tasting rooms, cocktail rooms, etc. The costs are staggering compared to other states. A wholesaler liquor fee is $15,000, and manufacturer fee is $30,000 (unsure if this is yearly) as well as a $10,000 bond. A micro distillery license allows up to 40,000 gallons per year, and has a fee of $2,000 and bond of $3,000.
There are several licenses you need to request to legally manufacture spirits. Below are the federal licenses only. Additional state requirements will need to be followed as well.
You must submit a request for a license to manufacture spirits: TTB 5110.41 Basic permit.
This license only allows you to produce spirits. You also need a license for the distilling equipment / distillery: TTB 5100.24 Distilled spirit plant
For manufacturing ethanol fuel you will need to submit a request for a TTB 5110.74 for a federal license.
Because it is a felony to manufacture moonshine or to transport spirits in Minnesota the fines and penalties are very high. First offense carries a maximum fine of $10,000 and can include up to 12 months of imprisonment.
340A.701 FELONIES. Subdivision 1.Unlawful acts.
It is a felony:
Current federal laws allow citizens the right to own a still and operate it for non-alcohol production.
This means legally you can: