State Overview state laws

It is illegal to own a still without a commercial license regardless of it's planned use..
Idaho residents are allowed to produce their own wine and beer for personal use.
Idaho Code ยง23-501

Any person shall have the privilege of manufacturing wine or brewing beer from native grown products for the personal use of himself, family, and guests.


23-602. Unlawful manufacture, traffic in, transportation, and possession of alcohol beverage. Except as authorized by title 23, Idaho Code, any person who shall have in possession, manufacture, transport, purchase, sell, or dispose of any alcohol beverage, including any distilled spirits, beer or wine, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction shall be punished as otherwise provided by law. Upon conviction of a second or subsequent violation of this section, the defendant shall be punished by a fine of not less than three hundred dollars ($300), nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than three (3) months, nor more than one (1) year, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

Additional alcohol laws in Idaho.

Fuel manufacturing state laws

To manufacture ethanol fuel you will need a license for distilling ethanol.

Legal manufacturing licenses & regulations

Idaho requires a state license and bond as well as all federal requirements.

23-507. Manufacturers' licenses. The division may grant a license to a manufacturer of alcoholic liquor for sale to the division and to customers outside of the state, subject to such regulations as the division may adopt. The fee for such permit shall be one hundred dollars ($100).

23-508. Manufacturer's bond. As a condition precedent to the issuance of a manufacturer's license, the applicant shall post a bond, written by a surety company authorized to do business in Idaho, in the penal sum of one thousand dollars ($1,000), conditioned for the faithful observation of the provisions of this act and the rules of the division promulgated thereunder. For a violation of the conditions thereof, said bond shall be forfeited to the state of Idaho, and any recovery thereon shall be covered into the liquor fund.

There are several licenses you need to request to legally manufacture spirits. Below are the federal licenses only. Additional state requirements will need to be followed as well.

You must submit a request for a license to manufacture spirits: TTB 5110.41 Basic permit.

This license only allows you to produce spirits. You also need a license for the distilling equipment / distillery: TTB 5100.24 Distilled spirit plant

For manufacturing ethanol fuel you will need to submit a request for a TTB 5110.74 for a federal license.

Posession stills & moonshine

Owning, manufacturing, transporting or selling moonshine is illegal in Idaho.
23-702. Building and equipment. A building, vehicle, car, or boat where alcoholic liquors are manufactured, stored, transported, sold, or otherwise dispensed, or where persons are permitted to resort for the purpose of purchasing or drinking alcoholic liquor, except as in this act authorized, permitted, or licensed, and all alcoholic liquor, vessels, glasses, kegs, pumps, bars, and other property and equipment found or used in connection therewith are hereby declared to be a public nuisance and in this article such a public nuisance is referred to as a liquor nuisance.
23-703. Maintenance a misdemeanor. Any person who conducts or maintains a liquor nuisance is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Federal laws

Current federal laws allow citizens the right to own a still and operate it for non-alcohol production.

This means legally you can:

Each state and even counties have their own laws that may supersede federal laws.

It is your responsibility to know the laws in your area.